Representation for the Cherokee Nation

The Cherokee Nation’s right to a delegate in the House of Representatives is affirmed by three separate treaties signed by the United States government: the 1785 Treaty of Hopewell, the 1835 Treaty of New Echota, and the Treaty of 1866. The 1835 Treaty of New Echota states the following:

“The Cherokee nation … shall be entitled to a delegate in the House of Representatives of the United States whenever Congress shall make provision for the same.”

Article VI, Section 2 of the U.S. Constitution declares that all treaties shall be the “Supreme law of the land.”

The time has come for the United States to live up to its treaties and Constitution.

Sign our petition, and your congressional rep will be contacted and told to honor treaty law and seat the Cherokee Nation’s congressional delegate.